I became a Partner In Hope


Welcome to my major blessing for the week…..This week one of our local radio stations had their 14th annual St. Judeathon, I’ve been listening to the St. Judeathon for the last few years, a couple of years ago the radio stations morning show hosts vowed that if a certain amount of money was raised for St. Jude during the radioathon that at the end they would shave their heads…..Needless to say we radio listeners rose to the challenge and the radio hosts shaved their heads on the air. Now they are doing things differently, but I finally took the plunge. I became a Partner In Hope, for $20 a month I am helping children with cancer from all over the globe who come to St. Jude to receive treatment.

I became a Partner In Hope because their are parent’s out there who just can’t afford the treatments that their child needs to get rid of this terrible illness…At St. Jude the hospital covers ALL costs of treatment from donations from people like me and you as well as fundraising. I became a Partner In Hope because it can/could happen to you or me, because cancer knows no age. I became a Partner In Hope because we need to find a cure for this horrible illness. I became a Partner In Hope because if it were me in the shoes of some of these parents, I would like to know that their are people out there “behind the scenes” helping to keep St. Jude up and running….Did you now that the daily operating cost for St. Jude is nearly $1.4 million which is primarily covered by public donations?

 

As a Partner In Hope I will be receiving a monthly newsletter from St. Jude, which will feature a patient of the month (the cutie in the picture is this month’s patient of the month, click on her picture to read her story) and all sorts of information about the research that is being done at the hospital. I will also be receiving the peace of mind that my donation is helping to find a cure for Childhood Cancer. Knowing that the research done at St. Jude (which is shared with hospitals all over the globe) could mean for a family that in the future there will be kindergarten, Middle School, prom, High School graduation, broken curfew’s, college and a long happy life for their child. That feeling right there is the best feeling in the world for me, knowing I’m helping a whole bunch of someone’s I’ve probably never met before and giving kids from all over the place a fighting chance, well that beats Chocolate right there. For the record I am a Chocolate FREAK!

Here are a few links for you to check out if you would like:

Quick Facts About St. Jude

 

The Corporate Sponsors of St. Jude

 

About the Founder of St. Jude

Danny’s Promise

 


I want to encourage you to become a Partner In Hope because together we can find a cure for Childhood Cancer. Please click on the St. Jude logo to become a Partner In Hope.

Here is a video with the song Where Angel’s Hang Around that Country artist James Otto put on his recent album Sunset Man….The song is entirely about St. Jude….The video itself was done in memory of a St. Jude patient who passed away May 9, 2005.

 

102 responses to “I became a Partner In Hope

  1. I will for sure visit these links in the morning, its off to bed now. 🙂

    Have a great weekend and dont miss my first Monthly Miracles post if you havent read it already!

    Love and Prayers,

    Tim

  2. That was a lovely post. So many charities that do amazing and wonderful things depend on public support. This is one cause worth giving to.

  3. I can never resist St. Jude, although I don’t contribute monthly, I always slip a check in the mail when they send me an envelope. Nice of you to share where your heart is.

  4. Hey girl! I hate to elave a random comment.. but you won the Twilight giveaway!! Email me your info.. my contact button is on my blog!

  5. What an awesome thing to do! My kids are participating in Relay for Life (another major cancer research fundraiser) so that’s my cause this year.

  6. Checking you out on your SITS day…wow!! I had no clue it took so much…although I probably should have!! Thanks so much for sharing!! This really is a cause that is SO worth it!!

  7. That is an awesome thing you are doing!!!!!

  8. Thank you for sharing the information about St. Jude and what this group works towards! What a great thing to get involved with!

  9. Super cool that you are doing this!

  10. As a mother, I think the biggest fear is praying that your child grows up, happy and healthy. I cannot nor do I want to imagine what these families go through.

    I most definitely will be looking in on this. Thank you for providing me with the information 🙂

  11. A great cause indeed…..
    I have a list of donations that I give to each year.
    St Jude is one that is always on my list.

  12. St. Jude is a great organization-one of my very favorite causes! How great of you to help out 🙂

  13. What an awesome cause. Good for you!

  14. That’s a wonderful cause. So awesome of you to participate and support St. Jude. Happy SITS FB Day, too! It sure seems like you deserve it!

  15. Wow..I must check the links later. Thanks for posting this!

  16. wonderful cause! I am stopping by from SITS to say hello and congrats on being FB!

  17. Thanks for sharing this info! It is an awesome cause!

  18. Thanks for sharing this information! Totally cool!

  19. Stopping by from SITS. 🙂 Thank you for making a difference with such a great cause!

  20. very cool. Happy SITS day!!

  21. I think this is a wonderful thing you are doing for such a great cause.

  22. This is such an amazing cause! I’m proud of you!!

  23. What a great cause and a wonderful opportunity to get the word out here. Happy sits 🙂

  24. What a great cause. Keep up the good work!

    Happy SITS Day!

  25. Such a worthy cause – good for you!

  26. How wonderful!!! Hope you enjoy your SITS day!! 😉

  27. Awesome, awesome, awesome! It feels good to give to others, whether you know them or not, doesn’t it? Stoppingy by from SITS, Happy SITS Day!

  28. This is a great cause! We love babies!!!!

  29. Thanks for sharing this!

  30. Very good cause. Kudos to you.
    congrats on being FB

  31. Good for you.

    It’s great that you’re spreading the word.

  32. That is so sweet…great cause you are supporting!

    Jamie 🙂

  33. St. Jude is such a wonderful hospital & a good thing to support.

  34. St Judes is great. Thanks for spreading the word.

  35. Thanks for sharing that info. I think the more people know about the actual cost of operating such an endeavor, the more will give. Happy SITS day.

  36. Such a sweet face that little one has and such a great cause! Happy SITS day!

  37. Wow, that certainly is a good cause. And congratulations on your SITS day!

  38. What an awesome start to my day… THANK YOU for taking on such an important cause!

  39. Wow! What a fabulous cause!

    People like you make the world a little bit better!

    -E

  40. That is so generous of you.

    Happy SITS Day

  41. What a wonderful thing you are doing. There are so mny people out there who really need our help, and it is people like you who help make it possible. Even for those who don’t have extra money there are ways to help; service, donations of clothing, blankets, etc. Thank you for being a wonderful example and happy SITS day!

  42. What a great thing to do! The world needs more people like you 🙂 That sounded like a poem too! haha Happy SITS Day!!

  43. Happy Sits Day. This is a great cause. I’m always moved by their campaigns. I think I need to seriously consider donating.

  44. Happy SITS day!

    I think that is a wonderful cause! Thank you for sharing!

  45. HI stopping in from SITS. that was a wonderful post! I think that it is awesome what you are doing and I am totally going to check it out! Happy SITS day 🙂

  46. What a worthy cause… You are a great person for doing that.. Not many are so generous

    Happy SITs Day!

  47. Thanks for this post – St. Jude is an amazing cause. How awesome of you!

  48. Thanks for sharing this.

    I like St. Jude hospital and the work they do there.

  49. I have been with ST. Jude for a while now, and although I can’t always give, I do what I can.

    Happy SITS day!

  50. Thanks for sharing a way to help.
    Happy SITS day

  51. Good for you. St. Judes is an amazing hospital and we should all be helping out!

  52. Awesome! We all should do something like this!

  53. I didn’t even know that you could set up monthly donations. Good to know! St. Jude has always been my charity of choice, so thanks for the heads up!

    And happy SITS, by the way!

  54. Good for you, girl!

  55. This makes me happy because St. Jude is a wonderful, wonderful place.

    You go, SITSta!

  56. Happy SITS day! Thanks for using your day to highlight such a great charity. I’ve heard their name before but wasn’t really familiar with what they did. You’ve inspired me!

    BTW – I was FB yesterday. Have fun going through all your comments!

  57. What a wonderful cause to support. I used to work for a country radio station in Seattle and was able to be one of the volunteers who took phone calls from supporters, and it was so awesome to listen to the stories (some sad, some happy) that made people contribute.

    It is definitely a worthy cause!

  58. A great cause. I am a supporter!

  59. Thanks for sharing. What a great cause. I will come back soon and check out the links.

  60. What a great cause! I lived in Memphis years ago, and it is such a great hospital.

  61. Congrats on your SITS day. I love it when people get involved in charitable work. That’s a big deal at our house too and St. Jude’s is such a wonderful cause. Happy Friday!

  62. You are amazing. Thanks so much for supporting such a worthwhile cause, and for sharing it with your SITSers. Hopefully, many children in need of such an amazing facility will benefit enormously from your example.

    xo

  63. This is great. Thanks so much for writing about this. I recently donated to Manic Mother for all the same reasons you listed supporting St. Jude’s. And now I think I’ll also become a Partner in Hope.

    Thanks again.

  64. Thanks for sharing. Happy SITS Day!

  65. this is a great cause

    Stopping by from SITS!

  66. There was an article in our local paper this week about the elementary school raising money for St. Judes and the teachers had to shave their heads…I think it was 3 of them and a staff member.

    It’s so inspiring to have kids & people like you take a part in raising funds for St. Judes…

  67. What a wonderful post and such a worthy charity!

  68. Thanks for bringing this to the forefront and for sharing this on your special SITS day!!

    🙂
    ~Tabitha

  69. St. Jude’s is a fantastic charity.

  70. What a wonderful cause! Thanks for helping spread the word!

  71. this is a great cause!
    Happy SITS day!

  72. An awesome cause indeed!

  73. Thanks for letting everyone know about this.

    What an amazing cause.

  74. GREAT post to highlight on your SITs day! Thank you for reminding us to count our blessings…and share our fortunes with others.

  75. Fantastic that you are making a difference!
    Happy Sits Day!

  76. What a wonderful cause! Happy SITS day!!

  77. Wow, what a blessing! My little nephew is headed back to NYC for scans next week; he has had neuroblastoma….but they were able to remove his tumor. What a blessing because there are so many parents who just struggle to make ends meet, while also trying to help heal their children…..

  78. My kid’s school does the St. Jude Mathathon every year! Great cause!

  79. What a great cause to be a part of. My father had cancer. I can only imagine how difficult it is when it happens to children.

  80. Thank you for putting this out there.

  81. Happy Sits Day! What a wonderful post about a wonderful cause.

  82. Wow, what a great cause. I remember doing the St. Jude’s Mathathon years ago in grade school- I loved it! I’m going to check out the links 🙂

  83. Such a worthy cause.

    Congrats on your SITS feature!

  84. Oh what a wonderful dedication. Thank you for putting awareness for this out there. I know I for one wasn’t fully aware of how st Jude’s works. What a great institution — and I certainly hope that the economy doesn’t impact them!

  85. I am a St. Jude Partner in Hope too! Doesn’t it make you feel wonderful to make a difference in these families’ lives? Bravo to you!

  86. Tonight I became a St Jude Partner in Hope.

    You know its funny…but I have this cause I’ve been working on for some time now. It has to do with making it safe for kids to travel on ambulances – and its become something of a mission to me because I know it will save lives. But the thing is that what it takes to make it happen is so huge and so all consuming that sometimes I forget that there are little things I can do on a daily basis that matter just as much and can have just as great an impact.

    So thank you for your blog. Thank you for helping me do something today…not just a year from now. Thank you because tonight I became a St Jude Partner in Hope and I know I made a difference

  87. I’m so happy you decided to do something so great! And look at all the people you’ve inspired just by writing about it!!! Happy SITS Day!

  88. Good thing you are doing there! That’s the way to do it, one person at a time!

  89. Okay, and that green redheaded monster = so me!

  90. Thanks for putting this out there. Although I only live a couple of hours from St Judes and had a cousin who went there I didn’t know about this. Great idea.

  91. Thanks for sharing something so important and touching.

  92. Excellent – St. Jude does amazing work for children and their families. They need the help, and when you think about it, $20 is really not that much – most of us blow that easy but look what a little here and there can do in force!!

    Happy SITS Day!

  93. How sweet, and what a great cause.

    Hope you had a happy SITS day!

  94. Great cause u are supporting!

  95. great post, great cause. Thanks for sharing.

    Hope you had a happy SITS day. 🙂

  96. Girl, good for your for making a difference! Again, sorry for reading this so late! My days off are all screwy, glad I got to read this wonderful post today! Glad you enjoyed your day!!

  97. How wonderful! Thanks for posting, and for choosing it as one of your SITS posts!

    Happy Sunday 🙂

  98. I love to see your passion! I too help raise money for a cause…The Drake Naylor Invitaional (Cerebarl Palsy) on my site. Good luck helping those precious little ones and their families!!!

  99. What a wonderful cause! Happy SITS day!

  100. What a wonderful cause to support. I, myself, help raise money for the American Heart Association. It is such a great thing to help organizations doing good for others!

    Congratulations a few days late on being the featured blogger!

Leave a Reply

