We are SOOOOOO NOT happy right now

IMG_2577Let’s just say that I don’t think we will be adopting anymore animals from the shelter we got Gus out of anymore.  Yesterday, I took her to the vet for her free Wellness exam and found out that she has 5 mammary tumors along her spay incision.  How did the shelter’s vet miss this….Two of them that the vet I took her to had me feel are the size of pencil erasers.  When we adopted her the shelter made no indication that there were any major medical problems after their vet did a “complete” exam on her before her spay.  Now Gus needs major surgery to remove these tumors so we can find out if our dog has K-9 Breast Cancer or not.  If we don’t do the surgery we could potentially be slowly killing our dog.  So much to think about.  Feeling so very cheated.

14 responses to “We are SOOOOOO NOT happy right now

  1. I’m sorry for you and your doggie. But then again I’m glad somebody who cares got her. Could you go back to the shelter and ask for a little bit of help with paying for the surgery? At least the purchase price back so you can give it to the new vet.

    The Texas Woman

  2. Hi! I’m so sorry to read your post about you and your doggie. That is a really unfortunate situation. It’s hard to take care of pets sometimes.

    I finally added your new url to my blogroll! Sorry it has taken me so long to do so! I hope you manage to have a good day even though you’ve got a lot of things to ponder with your dog situation.

  3. That is so not cool!!! You better let the shelter know that you’re not happy about it. But like Cher said… I am glad Gus got somebody that LOVES her. And I also think Cher has a good idea– let the shelter know that you would appreciate any help with vet costs. Poor doggy 😦

  4. Jamie, have you found any more blogs of single people? If you have, let me know, please!

  5. Sorry to hear about your new dog that is sad, but maybe you can see if the clinic will do the surgery.

  6. You have every right to be mad! That sucks! Hope Gus will be alright.

  7. I’m so sorry. That sucks! I would talk to the shelter. They have a legal obligation to provide a healthy dog.

  8. So sorry to hear about that! Be sure to give the shelter a mouth-full! I just love the Favorite Things Package you sent me and posted about it on Mamarazzi’s site. Thank you again for all the stuff you sent!

  9. OMGosh!!! I can’t believe that!!! You should contact the shelter about this…I’m so sorry for you and Gus 😦

  10. Oh no, that’s horrible. 😦

  11. oh, that’s horrible! I’m so sorry.

  12. Pingback: Welcome SITS and BITS and everyone else! « Confessions of a Country Girl

  13. That is terrible! I am so sorry.
    The shelters should be more careful. Such incidents will just discourage people from adopting homeless animals…

  14. Thank goodness she found you. I’m sure the shelter wouldn’t have done anything intentionally, they need the good PR to keep up donations. I hope they respond positively to your news and maybe they can take some of that bitter taste out of your mouth. Good luck with surgery.

Leave a Reply

