Frugal Friday ~ How I “fund” my reading habit

FrugalFriday

I am a BIG TIME reader.  I LOVE it when I find a new author or book that I absolutely LOVE.  The downside to being a big time reader is that sometimes I fall prey to the “I must have a brand spanking new copy” of a certain book when in actuality a used copy is just as good.  So now that I have decided that I am going to be taking a LOT more responsibilty for my personal finances in an effort to get myself out of debt I thought that this week on Frugal Friday I would share with you ways that I “fund” my reading habit or will be implementing to “fund” my reading habit.

What I HAVE implemented so far:

1. I have a rather large, rather random collection of reading material already here at home, so I’ve been slowly making my way through that.  The books that I have don’t enjoy, probably won’t read again, I find I have multiple copies of, etc………end up in #2 or donated.

2.  Joined paperbackswap.com.  On paperbackswap.com I am able to share the “excess” of my personal collection with readers all over the place.  The best part is that the books that I list on paperbackswap are listed for free and I recieve credits for the books that I post, which I am able to use towards the books that I would like to have.  The only money I have spent so far since I’ve joined paperbackswap is the postage fee for the books that I’ve sent out, which is usually less than $3.

3.  I use my local independent bookstore. We have an independent bookstore in our little town that I have found to be a new resource too.  So far I have been able to save a considerable amount of time/gas/money using this resource.

4. Thrift stores….My mom and I love to go “dumpster diving” at thrift stores like Goodwill and St. Vincent de Paul’s.  Most of the time we can leave with a bag full of books and spend what we would have spent on 1 brand new book at a bookstore.

What I WILL be implementing:

5. Public library…I have been REALLY BAD with this one in the past.  I don’t know why to be honest.  This one is pretty self explanitory.

6. Used bookstores….I just found out last week that we actually have a used bookstore in our town!  That and I live pretty close to 2 other used bookstores, 1 is sort of out of the way and the other is actually in the process of moving into the same shopping complex that I work in, also. What I love about the used bookstores in my area is that they will allow me to trade in my books (if I choose to do that) for store credit and/or cash.

8 responses to “Frugal Friday ~ How I “fund” my reading habit

  1. I, too, have a horrible book habit!

  2. Great ideas. I’m guilty of “needing” to buy the brand new copy too. And I think the reason I avoid the library is that I can never seem to get my books back to them on time.

  3. I have a friend whom I trade books with on a twice-yearly basis…it’s fun to suddenly get a box of books! 🙂

    It may seem strange, but check out your church’s lending library. Ours has a lot of books, and not just on faith-related topics.

    Finally, check out your library’s summer reading program. Not only can you read lots of books for free, but at our libraries adults too can earn points that they can exchange for a new paperback. Worth checking into!

  4. I live not to far from St. Vincent de Paul’s! Love that place for books!

    🙂

  5. I’ve been using our public library lately. It’s actually not bad!

  6. LOVE Paperback Swap and used book stores. The library is always wonderful too, but I always feel so pressured when there is a “due date” on the book.
    Popping in from SITS to wish you a good morning.

  7. I am a book addict myself, and I’m so bad about the library. I’ve been in NC for over 3 years and don’t even have a library card! I live off of BN.com and am a huge fan of PBS! The greatest way to get books for *almost* free!

  8. Just wanted to say that I read your blog quite frequently and I’m always amazed at some of the stuff people post here. But keep up the good work, it’s always interesting.
    See ya,

Leave a Reply

